Food, Inc

foodinc

If you have the opportunity to see this movie, please do! I had the opportunity to view it this past thursday and I am very grateful that I did. The film was overall moving and incredibly enlightening about how the food industry really is not being regulated perhaps with our best interests in mind. And it covers practices that are occurring now, and have been for a while, that could kill us and have killed some. There are a lot of disturbing facts and destructiveness (against animals against consumers and against the poor and those just trying to get ahead in life) in this movie that has my mind reeling a bit.

A few “things” I carried away from the film:

I will continue to grow as much as I can at home. If I cannot grow it I will continue buy only from local farmers who grow organic and raise grass fed beef with no hormones or antibiotics. Chickens that are grass and grain fed, cage free and that are not injected with hormones and antibiotics. The same for pork.

The hardest change of lifestyle for me…
As hard as this is for a tired mama of 3 little kids, I will strive to not feed my children fast food. It truly is an area of our food industry that is there to make money and the leaders and regulators of our food industry are not there to protect us. It appears they are here to protect the 4 power house food producers.
Yes that is right there are 4 gigantic food producers that pretty much control all of the food in the world, very scary. Also a lot of the folks who are our politicians that are supposed to be lobbying for our rights are also on the boards of these major corporations, who can you trust?? Buy locally and be informed about what you are eating. If anything we NEED to protect our children. And we cannot it seems trust the USDA and the FDA to protect us and our families- Can we really trust that they have our best interests in mind if some of those folks are on the boards of the mass food producers as well? Very frightening…very frightening.

**This movie talks about how corn is being fed to cows. Cows are not biologically able to process corn. Instead they are supposed to eat grass and when they are fed corn (it’s cheaper and permits a large number of cows to be squeezed into a small space versus having the need for space to grow grass.) When cows are fed corn, their bodies engineer a strain of E Coli. As you can imagine the implications from this…SEE THE MOVIE-Seriously!
**Chickens are being gentically altered so that they grow bigger breasts, everyone wants their boneless, skinless chicken breast aye? They are also growing them very rapidly with hormones. And they are so heavy and deformed that they can only take about three steps and then they fall to the ground. They shove a huge number of altered chickens into a chicken house that usually has no windows or any extra space for the chickens to roam free.

Not sure where to find restaurants, farmers, markets that don’t support these practices? Go to the Eat Well Guide and enter in your zipcode. It is an awesome resource that provides, “local, sustainable and organic” resources for the consumer.

I am off my soapbox now. Take Care.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Food, Inc

  1. I so want to see this movie. My friends that have assure me I won’t feel so bad about eating the meat we raised anymore. I have been afraid of the food in our country (world) for some time now. And I haven’t seen this movie yet.

    • potagergardengirl

      Heather,
      yes don’t feel bad about eating the meat you raise. It’s grievous how much integrity is not a priority when it comes to sustaining life, in regards to our leaders watching out for us. I’m ticked that they get away with this. Thank you for sharing!

      +

  2. I’m not sure if I’ll make the movie still in theaters, but if not I’ll definitely be seeing it when it comes to DVD.

  3. Kristin

    A fellow student in a class I took did a speech on this very subject. From just a food POV, she said you can lose weight by eating meats that were free roaming, grass fed animals (like nature intended). Every year she buys her meat from local farmers and many times even butchers them herself. The other stuff she said was pretty scary – and much of it was probably in this movie.

    Plus, I would think buying locally would insure you fresh food. I mean, why would a farmer risk it? Lots to think about….

  4. i looked on that website and the places for local, etc. meat/eggs/cheese was SLIM. i only came up with one. any other resources under that hat?

    • potagergardengirl

      Hey Jenny,

      I know the farmer I go thru has organic chicken and grass fed beef. He doesn’t use hormones either. He is not listed on that site. My theory is that all farmers that practice these “things” are listed. I get my eggs, organic & free range, meat & milk through Jubilee meadow farms. I know that the Clintonville Community Market sales goods from local farmers as well as Whole Foods. Were you asking a different question or did I answer it?
      Also, I know Chipotle uses pork and chicken that is fed organic feed and they are raised free range. They are currently working on getting their beef up to par and they are in support of the Food, Inc movie.
      My desire is that other restaurants will see the need and get on the bandwagon as well.

      • potagergardengirl

        I meant to say not all the farmers or restaurants are perhaps listed on the website, the ones that practice organic, free range, no hormones, etc.

  5. every year for christmas we ask for a cow and chicken share. can i have your farmers contact info?

  6. potagergardengirl

    Here you go!

    Jubilee Meadows Farm, LLC. offers beef by the quarter or by the piece from our 150 acre grass farm. Our beef is grass finished with no grain fed.

    We offer pastured broilers and eggs.

    Our pork is pasture raised and fed surplus milk from our dairy herd. Buy by the half or by the piece.

    Other products are offered through buying clubs that pick up at the farm. Raw milk is available through our herd share program only.

    Jubilee Meadows Farm, LLC. Steve Miller, 5867 Township Road 97, Mt. Gilead OH 43338. (419) 946-1413. E-mail: stevofarms@redbird.net.

  7. potagergardengirl

    http://www.eatwild.com/

    this is a good resource for farms that raise grass fed animals.

  8. awesome! im scouring that website now!

Leave a Reply

