Harvested Broccoli and Cauliflower

I guess the two plants that were damaged at the beginning of the season would have grown some goods, live and learn. I thought that perhaps I planted the seedlings too late.  Next year I’ll take more precautions to prevent the varments from getting my goods and I’ll definitely plant more broccoli and cauliflower. Planting cauliflower plants and broccoli plants versus planting seeds is definitely the way to go if you want to grow these two items. I planted from seed last year and I didn’t have a lot of success. I am so excited I found what works the best for me and my garden.

Also, a fresh floret of broccoli is so sweet right out of the garden. Yum.coma joe 002

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Harvested Broccoli and Cauliflower

  1. Wow! Those are huge. My cauliflower plant is just starting to flower, but I’m still waiting on the broccoli. I can’t wait til they are ready!

    This is my first year growing either and my father-in-law insists that I need to tie the leaves up around the flower with a rubber band. Do you do that or ever heard of it?

  2. aliceson – some cauliflower plants are self blanching – others are not, in which case you will need to wrap the leaves around the head to protect it from the sun while it grows. the self blanching varieties i believe will do this on their own with their own leaves.

    we have 9 broccoli plants and that seems just about right for 2 families. we’ve gotten 3 big heads this week alone and like you said, DELICIOUS!

    ps playdate!

  3. Thanks for the info Jenny!

Leave a Reply

