Todays Plantings

Today I setup the Terraced Strawberry Patch. I planted 50 strawberry plants. For some reason it didn’t occur to me that the patch would require as much soil as it needed but boy oh boy was that a feat! I had to run to the local nursery and purchase 11 bags of topsoil and I believe I’ll probably need to add about 2 more as the soil in the patch settles. That means the Patch has 11-40lb bags of topsoil or 440lbs of topsoil and I still will need to add about 80lbs more. That’s a lot of soil and I hope it pays off! The 11 empty soil bags did come in handy as a makeshift cover to protect the strawberry plants from potential cold weather.

I also planted my Dwarf Pear Tree (stick) and the Currant Bush.

My husband got home at 6pm and I was outside at exactly 6:05, in the van at 6:18 and on the way back home at 6:45. I finished up the three plantings just before dark at 8:15pm. I’m tired and I hope I’ll sleep well tonight. Hopefully the sun will make an appearance tomorrow and I can get the Dwarf Fig, the blueberry bush, the lemon tree and the house plants all potted tomorrow. Oh and I need to plant the mint plants in the window box.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Todays Plantings

  1. You made the round garden I’ve been dreaming of!! Hubby Alex said it couldn’t be done. Bah!

    We had great luck with a pear tree at our last house. Planted peaches out front last year here.

    • potagergardengirl

      I may have questions in the future about the pear tree. Did you guys grow it in the Espalier way? And girl you can so grow a round garden!! 🙂 I’m envious of your peaches. Perhaps another year!

  2. Wow that is a lot of soil for the strawberries!
    I had thought of getting one of those but I think you just changed my mind:)

    • potagergardengirl

      Birdie (love your name!) I bet if I get 50 strawberry plants worth of strawberries it may just be worth it! But definitely something to plan for cause yeah it’s a chunk of cash!

  3. Hi…. the runnings for additional topsoil to get 50 strawberry planted …. quite an adventure! We will see updates I am sure … cheers! ~ bangchik

    • potagergardengirl

      Yes! They are growing really well already, green leaves that have gone from miniscule to almot 2.5′ in width, exciting!!

Leave a Reply

